Spending my First Thanksgiving in New Jersey

Thanksgiving, I have always known about it due to tv shows such as Friends but never really thought there was much point in it. UNTIL I had the opportunity to experience it for myself. Thanksgiving for starters means days off work, school, college and university, that alone I believe is a big enough reason to celebrate thanksgiving.
On a serious note, I have an incredible amount to be thankful for and I think people need to sit down once in a while and celebrate all that they have.
Due to it being finals at uni I couldn’t have been more excited to have a few days off and get out of New York city for a while.
First off though we HAD to attend Macy’s famous Thanksgiving parade! To get a prime viewing spot I read online that you had to get there for at least 6:30am. ERM sorry no. Not happening. Not ever. So at 10am, a far more sociable hour, we ventured to columbus circle to see what all the fuss was about.
Floating spongebob with a Santa hat was the first float I saw. It was pretty fantastic although I was very confused of spongebob’s relevance to thanksgiving?!
The parade with floats and marching bands continued all the way from 79th to 34th street.
With our over night bags we marched to Penn station ready to head to New Jersey.
IT WAS SNOWING. Snow really does make everything look like a winter wonderland.
America is beautiful. I am 100% living here, no doubt. The American Embassy have no choice but to immediately grant me a green card.

After a beautiful thanksgiving dinner we stayed the night. In the morning it was all over and back to New York it was!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

